Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » Officers' Lounge » M4P to MP3 conversion

Author Topic: M4P to MP3 conversion
The Ginger Beacon
Member # 1585

- posted      Profile for The Ginger Beacon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hi guys,
I want to load a bunch of songs I've got on iTunes onto my mp3 player, but can't.

So, anybody know a good program for converting m4p files into mp3 format?

GB

--------------------
I have plenty of experience in biology. I bought a Tamagotchi in 1998... And... it's still alive.

Cartman
just made by the Presbyterian Church
Member # 256

- posted      Profile for Cartman     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
m4p is Apple's special FairPlay-encrypted (DRM) form of mp4, so you'll have to be creative.
The Ginger Beacon
Member # 1585

- posted      Profile for The Ginger Beacon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Yes, damn apple, making everything incompatable with everything else.

As far as i can work out, the best way to do it without loosing quality is to burn the music to a CD image in Nero, use another program to extract the files in .wav format, and then to convert the .wav files to mp3. I think i'll leave it for now!

--------------------
I have plenty of experience in biology. I bought a Tamagotchi in 1998... And... it's still alive.

Lee
I'm a spy now. Spies are cool.
Member # 393

- posted      Profile for Lee     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
But if you have iTunes, you can use it to convert CD tracks to mp3? Or you can on my version, which granted I haven't updated since 2003.

--------------------
Never mind the Phlox - Here's the Phase Pistols

Cartman
just made by the Presbyterian Church
Member # 256