Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » The Flameboard » The PANGEA proposal. (Page 2)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: The PANGEA proposal.
Bernd
Guy from Old Europe
Member # 6

- posted      Profile for Bernd     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Apart from the fact that the Australians neither want nor deserve our nuclear waste, it is no good idea to ship it around half the globe. Not only the Australians will object to such a plan. I fear it will actually end up in Siberia, and the Russians will just take the money and not further care about security.

------------------
I'm a doctor, not a bricklayer. (McCoy in "Devil in the Dark")
www.uni-siegen.de/~ihe/bs/startrek/

Curry Monster
Somewhere in Australia
Member # 12

- posted      Profile for Curry Monster     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Siberia...joy. With any kind of global warming, who knows what will leak into the oceans.

------------------
I drink therefore I am.

-Descartes

Simon
Ex-Member

- posted            Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
The US has plenty of large empty deserts. They detonated H-Bombs there so why can't they use them to bury their own garabge?
IP: Logged
Sol System
two dollar pistol
Member # 30

- posted      Profile for Sol System     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Such a system exists. The largest such storage facility in the country opened just recently, in New Mexico.

------------------
"I'm sick, like Nixon was sick, my defeated heart keeps beating on. I won't die, like Chucky won't die."
--
They Might Be Giants

[This message was edited by Sol System on April 22, 1999.]

Chimaera
Ex-Member