Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » The Flameboard » Senior Project: of cameras and computers (Page 1)

This topic comprises 8 pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8   
Author Topic: Senior Project: of cameras and computers
Omega
Some other beginning's end
Member # 91

- posted      Profile for Omega     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm a computer science/computer engineering student, and I've come up with an idea for my senior project in a couple years. In chapel every day, someone goes up into the rafters, stands on a walkway and takes pictures of the seats. Theoretically, someone looks at these pictures, determines which seats are empty and who they belong to, and thereby takes attendance. It doesn't seem to happen all that often, but such is the theory.

I want to automate it. The idea is to place a digital camera or cameras along this walkway. At certain times of day set by a piece of software on the network, the camera(s) will take pictures from certain positions and angles. These pictures will be sent over the network to a script which will analyze the pictures, determine which seats are empty, and update the online database of absences.

Of course, I'd like to find a pre-existing camera that has the capability to be controlled and take high-res snapshots over a network, then send those pictures back. However, my funding is not limitless, and nothing even remotely close at ANY price has yet been seen. So first question: anyone know if such a thing exists?