Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums
Topic Closed  Topic Closed
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » Other Television Shows » Some remarks about the "Enterprise" discussion

Author Topic: Some remarks about the "Enterprise" discussion
Bernd
Guy from Old Europe
Member # 6

- posted      Profile for Bernd     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have the impression that there are a couple of misunderstandings in the threads about "Enterprise", and I just wanted to make the following points clear.

First of all, I'm somewhat irritated that at several points the discussion was more about TV ratings and how Star Trek (Voyager) compares to other TV shows than about what *we the fans* expect. Of course, I wouldn't like to see that ratings (of *any* Trek show) go down, but I'm just not an expert in what the average relevant American TV viewer likes to see - this is not meant in a way that I'm looking down on the average viewer, but that actually no one is an "average viewer". Every person should have their own opinion on what they like to see, so please don't generalize the issue so often. Real life requires that a TV show fulfills the expectations of a broad public, but we're not Paramount or UPN who should be concerned about that. As for Voyager being better (or mostly worse) than other shows, I often have to hit the "Back" button to verify that I'm still in a Star Trek forum. I'm not blaming anyone for enjoying TV shows other than Star Trek, but what is the use of always pointing out that certain aspects of "Buffy" or "Farscape" are better? And please, dear Voyager bashers, don't always take it as granted that Voyager is bad.