Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » Starships & Technology » A Good Old Fashioned Star Trek XI Starship discussion! ($$$SPOILERS$$$) (Page 17)

This topic comprises 23 pages: 1  2  3  ...  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  23   
Author Topic: A Good Old Fashioned Star Trek XI Starship discussion! ($$$SPOILERS$$$)
Captain Untouchable
Member # 2161

- posted      Profile for Captain Untouchable     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I think the FTL effect is actually more Star Wars than Battlestar Galactica - in BSG they disappear on the spot, whereas Star Trek and Star Wars show some kind of lightning fast accelleration.

I prefer the new effects, but that's 'cause I'm a Physics student, and it seems more "realistic" to me. I like the fact that through the viewscreen, you can't conveniently see anything, which is logical. Sure, it isn't the same as what we're used to. But neither are most of the ship designs, the attention to detail, or the general lack of cheesiness. "Different" isn't inherantly bad.

I percieved the new movie as if the writers had gone back to the "original source material", rather than making an adaptation of the original show. Its like Pride and Prejudice - rather than trying to remake the BBC version, they went back to the original novel and re-adapted it. Just in this case, instead of "novel", its "Gene Roddenberry's notes".

Jason Abbadon
Rolls with the punches.
Member # 882

- posted      Profile for Jason Abbadon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
You lost me with the "attention to detail" part.
Yes, it's a fun movie but it's got far more than the usual amount of plot holes and VERY bad science for a Trek movie.

Amasov Prime
lensfare-induced epileptic shock
Member # 742