Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Sci-Fi » General Sci-Fi » Fringe (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: Fringe
Daniel Butler
I'm a Singapore where is my boat
Member # 1689

- posted      Profile for Daniel Butler     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Been watching Fringe, and regretting it. Every episode I nearly have an aneurysm. Like, for example, this supposed IP address (by the way, immediately resolved to a street address somehow):

*holds head in hands* Don't they have a tech editor?

The Ginger Beacon
Member # 1585

- posted      Profile for The Ginger Beacon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Crap, I'm just not enough of a geek to get the joke (a first on Flare, I must confess).

--------------------
I have plenty of experience in biology. I bought a Tamagotchi in 1998... And... it's still alive.

B.J.
Space Cadet
Member # 858

- posted      Profile for B.J.     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Yeah, I don't get the problem either. Of course, I'm an engineer, not an IT person.
Charles Capps
We appreciate your concern.
It is noted and stupid.
Member # 9

- posted      Profile for Charles Capps     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Each segment of an IP address is an eight bit number. The maximum value you can represent with an eight bit number is 255. Therefore, the "largest" IP address could be 255.255.255.255. That being said, using a "real" IP address is dangerous for the same reason using "real" URLs is dangerous. The could have at least used something in 10.0.0.0/8, or even better, 169.254.0.0/16...