Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » General Trek » The Trailer (Page 4)

This topic comprises 5 pages: 1  2  3  4  5   
Author Topic: The Trailer
The Ginger Beacon
Member # 1585

- posted      Profile for The Ginger Beacon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I think the whole "backlash" is fuled partly by the reboot (and it is, stop kidding yourselves by saying otherwise), partly because it's TOS - sacred ground to those who like their rulers slidey, their Dungeons Mastered and their pockets protected.

But most of all, I think it's because Star Trek XI: the Quest for The Huge Ticket Returns, going to be a huge summertime hit regardless of fans going to see it or not. We're jealous and worried all at the same time!

--------------------
I have plenty of experience in biology. I bought a Tamagotchi in 1998... And... it's still alive.

Vanguard
Member # 1780

- posted      Profile for Vanguard     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
It's not really jealousy.. more of a concern that "Trek as I know it" (and by that, the original story-telling style, by and large) is "dead" and being "replaced" by something far more shallow and superficial.

Like I said, if they we're really going out of their way to 'kill' TOS, it wouldn't really be an issue, and I could take the new movie much more on its own merits.

--------------------
www.pixelsagas.com
www.jaynz.info - The Record of Star Fleet

Reverend
Based on a true story...
Member # 335

- posted      Profile for Reverend     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
People bleat on like this EVERY time a new incarnation of Trek comes along, from TNG to Enterprise it's the same every time.