Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » Starships & Technology » First Contact Ships Sixteen Designs (Page 5)

This topic comprises 6 pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6   
Author Topic: First Contact Ships Sixteen Designs
Axeman 3D
Member # 1050

- posted      Profile for Axeman 3D     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'd downgrade that to a B- as I challenge the sources he's using and the theory behind said sources. The only saucer movie i can think of where the ships 'tilt' in any conventional way is the bloody awful 'Earth v's the Flying Saucers' where the model saucers were animated using stop motion, and that's only really when they are being interfered with magnetically by our square-headed hero and a large magnet. Speaking as an occasional animator I fully realise how important it is to do little things like the tilt in helicopters and having landing gear sag as a helo lifts off, (check this helo animation I did for demo )it helps make a model appear to have weight and inertia. In Trek, inertia is negated by machinery and all flight controlled by fields and exotic tech which makes such moves redundant. When I animate such things I tend to avoid adding inertial effects, it adds to the high-tech authenticity if stuff uses non-ballistic motion now.

--------------------
www.kennyscrap.com - where I download crap I make.

Lee
I'm a spy now. Spies are cool.
Member # 393

- posted      Profile for Lee     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
And you get to stay behind after class and write out one hundred times, "No one likes a smartass." 8)

--------------------
Never mind the Phlox - Here's the Phase Pistols

Jason Abbadon
Rolls with the punches.
Member # 882