Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  New Poll  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » Officers' Lounge » Microwaving Eggs -- Fires, Exploding Appliances, and Grandma's Slippers

Author Topic: Microwaving Eggs -- Fires, Exploding Appliances, and Grandma's Slippers
Siegfried
Fullmetal Pompatus
Member # 29

- posted      Profile for Siegfried     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
It's 2:00 a.m. I'm watching SNL reruns on Comedy Central and staring my clock in hopes that my insomnia isn't going to claim another victory. Right now, Gore has a better of chance of becoming the President now than I have of getting to sleep.

At least I have breakfast to count on in about six hours. Ah, breakfast: my favorite meal of the day! I love experimenting with omelettes and other "Get the Day Going" feasts. Unfortunately, I'm a college student living in the residence halls. And I'm in a room that doesn't have a kitchenette. All I have is my trusty microwave.

Now, eggs are the vital component of my breakfast. I have been tempted to buy a hot plate (against housing policy, but like I care about that anymore). However, I live in an apartment-style building that is 20 years old and made almost completely out of wood. I'm living in a kindling box!

For three weeks, I've been microwaving my eggs. All I can say is, "YUCK!" Anyone ever try microwaved scrambled eggs? It's like chewing on your grandmother's left bedroom slipper while deeply inhaling the fragrance of the right slipper. I tried making a boiled egg, too. The damn thing exploded. And popped a circuit breaker. And broke the bowl.

So I am asking for help from anyone and everyone who has had to cook eggs the cheap way. Is there a better way to make scrambled eggs or boiled eggs without blowing up appliances or burning down my building?