Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » General Trek » Creative disdain (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: Creative disdain
Aban Rune
Former ascended being
Member # 226

- posted      Profile for Aban Rune     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'd like to take a moment to vent if I may. I've recently heard two things that have really given me the old red-ass. 1: that Brannon Braga (I think) said in an interview that fans are "too attentive" to details and 2: that the creators of DS9 vowed never to mention the events of FC because they didn't like the way "their" ship, the Defiant, was used as a plot device.

My responce to both is negative. I'll use myself as an example. I'm an illustrator. Say that I hate the Steamrunner Class (I don't really). Say I think that the idea of an outrigged nav deflector is dumb, it looks bad and is technically wrong. Say I'm hired by someone to do an illustration of a Steamrunner class ship. Do I take it upon myself to move the nav def onto the main body of the ship thereby completely over looking established canon? NO! I'm adding a piece to an already established universe, not making my own! So are the writers of ALL the Trek venues. They're all bloody connected. They all work together. If you don't like it, don't write for them! If you're not creating for the fans, who are you creating for?

And as for being pissed about using the Defiant, it worked great! Personally, I think the movie should've started with the Defiant, but it was a GREAT tie in to the other series, and it acknowledged the fact that everything is supposed to be working together. Suck it up people.

Comments?

------------------
"Resolve and thou art free."

Saltah'na
Chinese Canadian, or 75% Commie Bastard.
Member # 33