Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Sci-Fi » Designs, Artwork, & Creativity » Designing MSDs

Author Topic: Designing MSDs
Jb
Ex-Member

- posted            Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hey, folks. A newbie here, looking for some advice...
I've been intrigued with some of the MSDs I've found in here as well as on the web, and I was looking for some advice on their design, especially as they would pertain to an Olympic-Clas ship. I've got a preliminary cross section completed, and would like some advice on creating it's MSD.
Thanks!
Jb

IP: Logged
MinutiaeMan
Living the Geeky Dream
Member # 444

- posted      Profile for MinutiaeMan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I did a bunch of MSD's on my own a while back, here's my version of the Olympic:

http://www.st-minutiae.com/graphics/olympic.jpg

capped
I WAS IN THE FUTURE, IT WAS TOO LATE TO RSVP
Member # 709

- posted      Profile for capped     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Be careful not to make the entire habitable volume of the ship living quarters.. many decks would probably have a corridor at the centerline, so show a few of those, just to keep it visually interesting. Most ships seem to have a whole lot of the residential quarters with windows, so theyd be around the edge, not in the middle. the spaces near the hull that arent 'deck height' could be shown filled with pipe greeblies or whatever to give the illusion of life support machinery

the living quarters thing really ticks me off when everyone just fills a whole ship up with lined-up beds and desks. show a transporter room, a cargo bay, holodeck, rec deck and sickbay too!

and the basics: computer core starts right under the bridge and goes down to the sensory (the dome at the bottom of the primary hull if its got one)