Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Sci-Fi » General Sci-Fi » New Torchwood - Children of Earth $$ (perhaps)

Author Topic: New Torchwood - Children of Earth $$ (perhaps)
The Ginger Beacon
Member # 1585

- posted      Profile for The Ginger Beacon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Anybody catch the latest offering from Russel T Davis and co? I missed it, but I've just noticed it online, so I'll watch it after dinner.

It's a mini series this time, lasting all week so it seems (allright, sometimes I miss having a TV).

--------------------
I have plenty of experience in biology. I bought a Tamagotchi in 1998... And... it's still alive.

Mark Nguyen
I'm a daddy now!
Member # 469

- posted      Profile for Mark Nguyen     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
$$$$poilers from me!

I've seen "Day One", and liked everything so far. I don't consider Torchwood of the same level of brilliance as Doctor Who, mostly because of some frankly atrocious character development in the first season. The second season was far better than the first though, and this is an improvement on that. The third season is a five-part miniseries being broadcast all week long, with each episode apparently covering a single day.

It's a little strange that Torchwood has been operating independently for so long, with just the three of them defending Cardiff. They're actively looking for a new doctor at least... But they don't seem to answer to anyone and thus have been taking their time staffing back up. Personally, I'd like to see a return to the original Torchwood style with tons of personel and backup from UNIT as needed, just without the corruption that almost died with everyone at Canary Wharf.