Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » The Flameboard » The smell of tobacco... (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: The smell of tobacco...
Baloo
Curmudgeon-in-Chief
Member # 5

- posted      Profile for Baloo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm quitting smoking tomorrow. I went to the first (of four) smoking cessation classes Tuesday, and tomorrow they'll prescribe nicotine patches and Zyban (for those who need it -- I will).

I started smoking at 18 years of age. I was a freshman in college and I wanted to look "cool". Good reason, huh?

It's been almost 23 years since I started, and my rate of consumption went from a pack a week to a pack a day. Occasionally, when I was truly stressed out, I could smoke up to 3-4 packs a day.

My current rate varies between 1-1.5 packs per day. It's getting expensive these days. "Sin taxes on cigarettes amount to about 80% or more of the 18-25 (US) dollar price per carton. Individual packs sell for between 2 and 4 dollars, depending on where you buy them.

I'm tired of spending that much on a habit that provides so little pleasure. I'm tired of my wife complaining about the smell (I smoke outside in all kinds of weather, but it clings to your clothes). I'm tired of coughing when I don't have a cold. I'm tired of running out of smokes at 8:00 p.m. and deciding at 10:00 that I MUST have another cigarette, so off I go to get them.

I am also tired of self-rightious people joining the temperance movement of the nineties and casting smokers as deluded people with an evil habit. We're not deluded, we're addicted. Don't jump all over a smoker because they haven't quit yet. They will eventually develop a desire to quit if something else doesn't kill them first.