Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » The Flameboard » Celebrate Banned Books Week! (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3   
Author Topic: Celebrate Banned Books Week!
First of Two
Better than you
Member # 16

- posted      Profile for First of Two     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Many of you know I'm a librarian.
Those of you who don't know this, haven't been paying attention.

Anyways, next week is ALA's Banned Books Week, a week in which we celebrate the fact that we live in a society that values freedom of expression... and also remind ourselves that we must be ever vigilant against those who would try to take these freedoms from us.

The ALA provides us with a list of the 100 most frequently challenged (attempted to ban) books from public and school libraries of the last decade. I thought I might share SOME of these with you, so you'd know what you were getting into (all the 'eternal damnation' and so forth the Fundies [largest group of banners] tell you about,)if you should ever read any of them. And you should. If only to thumb your noses at the people who would see them banned.

Here goes: (How many have YOU read?)

The Chocolate War -- Robert Cormier
Huckleberry Finn -- Mark Twain
Tom Sawyer -- Mark Twain
Of Mice and Men -- John Steinbeck
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings -- Maya Angelou
Forever -- Judy Blume
Blubber -- Judy Blume
Bridge to Terabithia -- Katherine Paterson
The Catcher in the Rye -- J.D. Salinger
The Giver -- Lois Lowry
Anastasia Krupnik (series) -- Lois Lowry
Goosebumps (series) -- R.L. Stine
The Color Purple -- Alice Walker
In the Night Kitchen -- Maurice Sendak
The Witches -- Roald Dahl
James and the Giant Peach -- Roald Dahl
A Wrinkle in Time -- Madeline L'engle
Go ask Alice -- Anonymous
The Stupids (series) -- Henry Allard