Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » Starships & Technology » nx59650 not the right registry #? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: nx59650 not the right registry #?
Trip Tucker
Member # 297

- posted      Profile for Trip Tucker     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello Everyone, I'm new to this sort of thing and I just wanted to try to start a good topic.
Everyone has seen that the registry number on the Prometheus-class U.S.S. Prometheus (my personal fave) is NX-59650. But I found a dedication-plaque at the LCARS Communications Network that states the registry number is NX-74913. The number ON the ship seems rather old, but the number on the plaque seems up-to-date. The plaque number should have been the one seen on the ship.
When I can figure out how to post a pic, I'll send it along.

------------------
Dismissed...that's a Starfleet expression for GET OUT!!
-Captain Kathryn Janeway

[This message has been edited by nx59650 (edited January 28, 2000).]

TSN
I'm... from Earth.
Member # 31

- posted      Profile for TSN     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
The Prometheus's dedication plaque and MSD both have the 70000s registry on them. The old number wasn't terribly difficult to explain away. But these conflicting numbers are a bit more of a problem. I don't think anyone's come up w/ a really good explanation yet. The best I can think of at the moment is that it may have been the 59650-B, or something, and they inexplicably decided to leave off the suffix. This would leave the larger number as the ship's "real", unique registry, while 59650 is its "ceremonial" one.

------------------
Col. Maybourne: "Teal'c... It's good to see you well."