Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Community » The Flameboard » I stubbed my elbow with a vacuum cleaner. (Page 3)

This topic comprises 6 pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6   
Author Topic: I stubbed my elbow with a vacuum cleaner.
The Talented Mr. Gurgeh
Member # 318

- posted      Profile for The Talented Mr. Gurgeh     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Omega: I acknowledge your point about the birds still being able to interbreed, but this doesn't mean my example is "flawed". The natural selection is definitely altering the genome of the birds. I'm not an expert on genetics, but if slight alterations like this were continuously made to the genome over millions of years due to environmental changes (and despite what that book says, we have had much more than 5,000 years to evolve), I find it easy to envision the genetic differences being too great to allow the birth of fertile offspring. This is compounded by the fact that a species can branch into several evolutionary paths, so that these new strains would become species distinct from each other more quickly.

The case of the birds on the Galapagos Islands is well documented and proven. Bear in mind also that the definition of "species" is not merely that members of the same species must be able to produce offspring, but that they must be able to produce fertile offspring.

About the homo sapiens and neanderthal thing, I haven't heard of any project to compare the DNA of homo sapiens with that of past members of the genus, but it's probably been done already, and I agree that it would be another good way to prove the existance of evolution. Then again, most scientists don't need the existance of evolution pointed out to them yet again.

------------------
*Kenshiro gets off bed made from solid stone*
*Bed made from solid stone explodes*