Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » Starships & Technology » Half-Saucer (aka Intrepid) orthos (Page 4)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4   
Author Topic: Half-Saucer (aka Intrepid) orthos
The Ginger Beacon
Member # 1585

- posted      Profile for The Ginger Beacon     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
So how the hell does anybody get on or off the ship? NX-01 was the first with a transporter (I know, that's safe for people to use). The Eric the-half-a-ship has got no visible shuttle bay, so what do they do?

Maybe they let out a long rope and drop it to the planets surface. It'd be quick to get down, but a bugger to climb back up!

--------------------
I have plenty of experience in biology. I bought a Tamagotchi in 1998... And... it's still alive.

Captain Boh
Member # 1282

- posted      Profile for Captain Boh     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
quote:
Originally posted by The Mighty Monkey of Mim:
Which, confusingly enough, is far enough out even a century later that Kirk felt he could safely leave Khan and his flunkies to run around on it.

How long did it take them to get there? Wasn't the episode set a good 20 years in the future?
Timo
Member # 245

- posted      Profile for Timo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'd think a location close to Earth is actually preferable: Kirk would want to dump Khan ASAP, and the spot where the supervillain was picked up was necessarily close to Earth, considering the supposed low speed of his sleeper ship.