Flare Sci-fi Forums
Flare Sci-Fi Forums Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Flare Sci-Fi Forums » Star Trek » Starships & Technology » Internal changes between the Refit Enterprise and the Enterprise-A (Page 7)

This topic comprises 8 pages: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8   
Author Topic: Internal changes between the Refit Enterprise and the Enterprise-A
TheWoozle
Member # 929

- posted      Profile for TheWoozle     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Careful, we don't want to have him cowering in a corner to soon, heh heh.

--------------------
joH'a' 'oH wIj DevwI' jIH DIchDaq Hutlh pagh
(some days it's just not worth chewing through the leather straps in the morning)
The Woozle!

goose814
Ex-Member

- posted            Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
This is my first time here and I would like to add a few things. A must have source of reference are the "Starlog Photo Guidebooks: Special Effects, Vol. 2 & Vol. 5"

Vol.2 has a short article at the end about the Enterprise designed for ST:TMP. It contains numerous preproduction drawings as well as a cross-section of the secondary hull by Andy Probert showing 5 decks in the dorsal & 7 decks in the hull with what looks like room for an additional deck under the botanical garden.

Vol.5 contains a long article written by Andy himself. He descibes his designs for ST:TMP and for ST:TNG. It also contains many preproduction sketches & drawings. Several of which I've never seen anywhere else.
One illustration shows Andy's version of what the Rec Room could have looked to fit the contours of the saucer & its concave lower section. I tend to like this version better than the filmed one.